top of page

Previously named "Organization of the Year" by the Comanche Chamber of Commerce

Recognized as a "BLUE STAR MUSEUM"  by the National Endowment for the Arts

Mission Statement

Preserving history, heritage, and artifacts to honor the hardships, challenges, and triumphs of our Comanche County Founders and pass on this history, knowledge, and legacy to current and future generations.

Conserving Genealogy Heritage and History is our goal!

The Comanche County Historical Society, established in 1973, has been dedicated to preserving the heritage of Comanche County. In 1975, Joe Maxwell, a local tax consultant, and attorney, generously donated 3.2 acres of land and buildings to the Historical Society for the purpose of creating a county museum.

Over the course of three years, volunteers worked diligently to clean the buildings and gather historical memorabilia from various communities in the area. These communities include Comanche, DeLeon, Lamkin, Sipe Springs, Board Church, Creamer, Newburg, Sidney, Stag Creek, and Gap. The collected items were then exhibited in the museum. In October 1978, the museum officially opened its doors to the public, featuring displays in the Big Room and five side rooms.

Since its inception, the museum has experienced significant growth and expansion. It now houses over 14 rooms of historical exhibits, along with a workshop area, office, and supply room, encompassing an impressive 50,000 square feet of space.

The museum is an active member of the Comanche, Texas Chamber of Commerce and is part of the Texas Forts Trail, a network of historic sites and landmarks in Texas.

To support its operations, the museum relies on donations from individuals and organizations. It is open to the public from Wednesday to Saturday, between 10am and 4pm. Additionally, the museum offers school, private, and group tours by appointment. Those interested can become supporting members, and the museum also welcomes volunteers and contributions of historical artifacts relevant to its mission.

The Comanche County Historical Society Museum serves as a valuable resource for preserving and sharing the rich history of Comanche County and its surrounding communities.


Bobby Lane (Newburg)

Beth Martin (Comanche)

David Gore (Comanche)

Eddie Cox

Missy Jones (Comanche)

Fain McDaniel (Sidney)

Garry Steele (Sidney)



First VP:

Second VP:

PR Director:


Past President:

Tommy Alford (Sipe Springs)

Sandy Blackwood (Comanche)

Cris Boyd (Comanche)

Cindy Brannan (Comanche)

Eddie Cox (Comanche)

Preston Cox (Comanche)

Jimmy Cuellar (Comanche)

Gary Easly (Vandyke)

Beth Fairbrother (Comanche)

Larry Harbour (Comanche)

Mika Prater (Comanche)

Kay Stenson (Comanche)

Lee White (Comanche)

Kevin Wilson (Comanche)




Honorary Board:

Keith Prater (Comanche)

Caroline Pinkard (Sidney)

Rae Jean Hasty (DeLeon)

bottom of page